Upon receipt of an approved application, the applicant shall be issued a certificate of registration and license
plate(s) or validation sticker(s) according to the registration type.
The following registration types receive only one plate or sticker:
- multipurpose vehicles
- vehicles operated with demo or full use plates.
All other registration types will receive two plates or stickers. The license plates and/or stickers must be changed
or validated annually.
License plate design
Wyoming law requires the use of the county number on the far left of the plate, and the bucking horse and rider
emblem immediately following for most plate types. Dealer plates and trailer plates have specific exemptions
from this requirement.
Special stickers designating "Veteran" and designating the conflict service of the veteran may be affixed to
license plates. These stickers must be purchased through the Veteran's Affairs Commission, and that commission
has the authority to establish the eligibility criteria for obtaining one. WYDOT has promulgated rules, which
include the placement of the stickers on the plates. That excerpt is reproduced below.
Farmers or ranchers who use trucks and trailers to transport livestock, feed or unprocessed agricultural products
owned and produced by them from the place of production to market, or from a supplier to their farm or ranch for
their sole use and not for sale, may be issued a sticker designating "Farm". The cost of the stickers is the same
as any other validation sticker. The purpose of the stickers is to identify farm vehicles used only in internal
operations and not for hire when crossing state lines. These stickers are more prevalent in counties that border
other states. Few, if any, are found in interior counties.
Display of plates
License plates are required to be securely fastened to the vehicle and displayed to be plainly visible. All
vehicles with two plates must have one each on both the front and rear of the vehicle. The law further requires
that the plate be attached in a horizontal position at least 12 inches above the ground, and that it be maintained
free of debris to make it clearly visible.
Certain temporary workers in Wyoming may choose to receive a temporary decal from a Wyoming county
treasurer in lieu of a registration. To qualify for the decal, the temporary worker must be employed in the state
for 90 days or less, and have a valid registration or license plate from another jurisdiction.
The temporary decal is an alternative to a temporary registration allowed under 31-2-206(m). The applicant
will pay $50.00 per 30 day period – with a choice of 30, 60, or 90 days, and the fee will be credited to the county general fund. No one may receive more
than one decal in any twelve month period.
Reserved plates offer registrants the opportunity to receive the same license plate number in future plate
issues that they have from the current issue. It is often regarded as a "perk" for long time residents of the county.
Each county treasurer determines the number of reserved plates by plate type for his or her own county,
subject only to the statutory requirement that the number cannot exceed 9,999 for any single plate type. At the
treasurer's discretion, the number for each plate type could be zero or it could be 9,999. The treasurer may select
a different number for each plate type. Click here for a listing of Platte County's reserved numbers for the 2009
Teton plate series.
The law requires that the application for the plate be made to the treasurer by the last day of the annual
registration month for the plate. The problem lies with plates that may have been renewed or transferred in a
different county. If a plate was renewed for several years in another county, it may not continue to have the
same expiration date that it had when first issued. The treasurer may have no way of knowing the new
expiration date, or even if the registrant will want to continue to receive the plate number.
In practice, to meet the spirit of the law, reserved plates are held by the treasurer the entire year during
a new plate year. After December 31 of the plate issue year, it is impossible for an application to be received
by the last day of the annual registration month, even if renewed or transferred in another county.