One of the biggest jobs the County Treasurer is responsible for is vehicle registrations. Below you will find information
about types of registrations, how registrations are calculated, and documents needed for different registrations.
Who must register?
Registration is generally required for any vehicle owned or operated in this state by a resident,
and not otherwise exempted by law. Non-residents are generally not required to secure or display
Wyoming registration, unless their vehicles are being used for gain or profit (see nonresidents under
exemptions). Since a key requirement is residency, it is important to understand how it is defined
within Title 31.
Residents include the following:
- Any person employed in Wyoming, with the following exceptions:
- a full time student at the University of Wyoming, or a Wyoming community college.
- a daily commuter from a jurisdiction with a reciprocal agreement
- a person with a valid registration from a state that has a licensing reciprocal agreement
- Any person, other than a full-time student at the University of Wyoming or a community college, who owns,
rents or leases a place of residence in Wyoming and has remained in Wyoming for 120 days or more.
- Any person or company, regardless of type of ownership, that maintains a main or branch office
or warehouse in Wyoming, and bases or operates motor vehicles in Wyoming.
- Any person, company or association that operates motor vehicles in intrastate haulage in Wyoming.
When is registration required?
The time requirement for registration varies depending on resident status, prior ownership, and the entity from whom
a new vehicle was purchased.
For vehicles already owned by the individual, company or organization, registration is required before the end of
their annual registration month. In the case of a new purchase (new to the owner, not implying a new vehicle),
the required registration time is either within 30 or 45 days of the date of purchase, according to these conditions:
- In the case of a purchase from a dealer, whether in-state or out-of-state, the vehicle must be registered within 45 days
of purchase. The vehicle may be operated during this 45 day period under the temporary permit issued by the dealer.
Some states are now giving 60 days on the temporary permit. While technically Wyoming law still requires registration
within 45 days, in practice drivers are given the 60 days their permit allows.
- In the case of a purchase from an auctioneer, the vehicle must be registered within 45 days of purchase. The vehicle
may be operated during this 45 day period when the transferee is in possession of the notarized auctioneer's bill of sale.
- In the case of a non-dealer purchase, the vehicle must be registered within 30 days. The vehicle may be operated
during this 30 day period when the transferee is in possession of the executed title for the vehicle.
For vehicles already owned by the individual, company or organization, registration is required immediately upon
meeting the residency definition. In the case of a new purchase, the same rules as residents would apply if they meet the
residency definition, or if registration is not secured in their home state within the required time frames.
If you have moved to Wyoming from a state that we have reciprocity AND your out of state plates are not expired,
you are not required to register in Wyoming until the out of state plates expire.
As of July 1, 2008, WYDOT verified that the following states have full reciprocity
agreements with Wyoming:
- New Mexico
As of July 1, 2008, WYDOT verified that the following states have daily
commuter reciprocity with Wyoming:
- South Dakota
Replacement of License Plates
If a license plate is lost, stolen or damaged, you may apply for a replacement plate. The cost is $8.00.
If you want the same plate number that you had, we can re-order it. That process takes 4-6 weeks.
We can issue you a plate off the shelf to use until the new one comes in. If you dont care what number
you have we will just issue you a new plate off the shelf.
Replacement of Validation Stickers
If a set of stickers are lost you may purchase a replacement set for $6.00.
Duplicate Certificate of Registration
Additional copies of your vehicle registration are available upon request.
What do I need to bring in with me?
- Know your plate number
- Registration renewal card or previous registration
- Proof of insurance
- If you are military claiming non-resident, you will need your current end of month
Leave and Earning Statement and military identification card.
- Copy of your Wyoming title *or* if registered in another state, a copy of the current registration
- Copy of dealer's invoice if the vehicle is a new purchase
- Proof of insurance
- For commercial vehicles over 55,000 pounds, a copy of your current IRS 2290 form is needed
- For leased vehicles, you will need proof of sales tax being paid, usually on the lease contract.
The contract must contain:
- Sales tax license number
- Percentage of sales tax being collected
- If you are military claiming non-resident, you will need your current end of month Leave and
Earning Statement and military identification card.